Kindle-Formatting-Step-by-Step.pdf
(
2382 KB
)
Pobierz
Kindle Formatting System Step‐by‐Step
Purpose
The purpose of this lesson is to provide you with an exact system to properly format your Kindle
books for publishing. There is a lot of poor and incomplete information on this topic and you can
easily spend countless hours trying to figure it out on your own. For some reason, Amazon has
made properly formatting Kindle books quite complicated.
Use the system below to format your Kindle books properly so that your readers won’t be
displeased with your books before they even get a chance to read them.
What You Will Need
Below is a list of the different programs you will need to properly format Kindle books. While
there are various substitutions, these are my recommendations.
1.
Microsoft Word (Open Office is an alternative, but is not ideal)
2.
Ebook editor (both tools are FREE):
a.
MobiPocket Creator (if using a PC) – download here:
http://www.mobipocket.com/en/downloadsoft/productdetailscreator.asp
b.
eCub (if using a Mac) – download here:
http://www.juliansmart.com/ecub
3.
Kindle Previewer (optional, but recommended; also FREE) – download here:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/feature.html/?docId=1000765261
When you are ready to format a Kindle book, go ahead and download those items above.
Part 1: Preparing and Formatting Your Book in Microsoft Word
In this first part of the three‐part Kindle formatting process, you are making changes to your
book while it is still in Microsoft Word format. All content changes and image insertions should
be done before you start this process.
Here is how you properly format your Microsoft Word document to prepare it for the ebook
editor:
Step 1: Save your Word file into .doc format (NOT .docx)
The file extension .docx (the new version of Microsoft Word’s default file extension) does not
work very well for Kindle formatting right now. So, save your file as .doc.
© 2012 All Rights Reserved –
http://amazonmoneymachine.com
1
Step 2: Insert a Page Break After Each Page
After each page – including the title page, copyright page, table of contents page, and after each
chapter – add a page break to separate the content.
© 2012 All Rights Reserved –
http://amazonmoneymachine.com
2
Step 3: Create Your Informational Pages
•
Title Page
(NOT your book cover image) – includes: book title, subtitle, author, website
link (optional), and publisher (optional)
•
Copyright Page
– use basic copyright notice
•
Table of Contents Page
– we will insert the actual table in another step, just create the
page now
•
About the Author Page
(optional)
•
Resources
(links to your other Kindle books or Amazon products) – add one of these
pages at the beginning AND at the end of your book
Step 4: Apply Headings to Your Chapter Titles
In Word, you are going to apply headings to your chapter titles so that those items appear in the
automatic table of contents you’ll be creating in the next step.
How you add headings varies a bit between versions of Word, but Word 2011 (Mac version), you
highlight the chapter title, open the tools window, and select “Heading 1”.
Step 5: Create Your Automatically Updated Table of Contents
In this step, you are going to use Word’s automatic table of contents feature to create a table of
contents with just a few clicks (without having to manually type the entries in yourself).
While how you access this will vary depending on what version of Word you are using, you
should be able to click on the “Insert” menu and then find “Table of Contents” or “Indexes and
Tables” to insert your table of contents.
There are a few important things you need to make sure you do when you create your table of
contents:
1.
Uncheck the box that says “show page numbers” – you
do NOT want to show page
numbers
in your Kindle book as Kindle reading devices are a wide variety of sizes and no
page numbers will match up with what your reader actually sees
2.
If given the option, check the box that says “use hyperlinks” –
you DO WANT your table
of contents to have clickable links
to your chapters (this helps readers quickly navigate
to content they want to read in your book)
Making your table of contents clickable (active hyperlinks) to the headings (chapters) in your
book is pretty easy in most versions of Word. However, if using Word 2011 for Mac (and
possibly some other versions), you might need to do this step manually. Here’s how to do it:
1.
In your table of contents, double click or highlight ONE of the entries
2.
Select “Insert” > “Hyperlink”
© 2012 All Rights Reserved –
http://amazonmoneymachine.com
3
3.
In the middle three tabs, select “Document” (to choose a link from within the
document)
4.
Click the “Locate” button
5.
Expand the “headings” and select the appropriate item you want to link to (e.g., the
chapter)
Step 6: Insert Your Bookmarks
Insert your bookmarks so that Amazon readers can quickly jump through your content from
Amazon.com and in Kindle devices.
The two main bookmarks you are going to want to insert are “TOC” (Table of Contents and
“Start” (to mark the opening page of your book – this can be your cover page, introduction page,
or even resources page). Here’s how to insert your bookmarks:
1.
Click your cursor at the beginning of the first entry of the table of contents
2.
Click “Insert” > “Bookmark”
3.
Type ‘TOC’ (without the quotes) and click “Add”
4.
Click your cursor at the beginning of where you want readers to start
5.
Click “Insert” > “Bookmark”
6.
Type ‘Start’ (without the quotes) and click “Add”
Step 7: Setting Up Your Page Size and Margins
To make sure there isn’t a bunch of extra white space when readers are reading your Kindle
book on their devices, you are going to want to resize your page according to the information
below and get rid of your margins. Here’s how to do it:
1.
Click “File” > “Page Setup” and click on the link (varies by version of Word) to edit
“Paper” specifications
2.
Change your page size to 5.39” for width and 7.91” for height
3.
Set your margins to 0” on all sides (no margins). Keep gutter position left.
This is what your file will look like after you apply these changes:
© 2012 All Rights Reserved –
http://amazonmoneymachine.com
4
Step 8: Final Formatting Changes
First, there are a few common formatting tools we use all the time that don’t work well on
Kindle, specifically:
bullets, headers & footers, and tables
. If you have any of these in your
documents, remove them or replace them (e.g., bullets can be changed to asterisks or hyphens).
Second,
images should be centered on the page
.
Step 9: Saving Your File as a Filtered HTML (Webpage) File
Saving your file as filtered HTML is required to proceed to the next step (using the ebook editor).
Here’s how to do it:
1.
Click “File” > “Save As” (or “Save As Web Page”)
2.
Select “web page (.htm)” or something that says “filtered” with the extension .htm or
.html
With your .htm or .html file saved, you are now ready to move onto the next part of the Kindle
formatting process – using the ebook editor.
Part 2: Creating a Kindle‐Friendly File Using an Ebook Editor
By this point, you should already have your ebook editor installed. You can use MobiPocket
Creator if you are using a PC to create a .prc file OR you can use eCub if you are using a Mac to
create a .epub file – either will work for Kindle. Your goal in this step is to successfully create a
.prc or .epub file using one of the ebook editing software programs.
© 2012 All Rights Reserved –
http://amazonmoneymachine.com
5
Plik z chomika:
chemiczysko123
Inne pliki z tego folderu:
Money Machine Kindle Book Description.mp4
(58045 KB)
Money Machine- Kindle Niche Selection.mp4
(141422 KB)
Money Machine- Formatting Your Kindle Books.mp4
(47379 KB)
Money Machine- Author Central.mp4
(34322 KB)
5a - Amazon Money Machine - Why Kindle.pdf
(250 KB)
Inne foldery tego chomika:
BlogSEO (still to be updated by the seller)
Drop-Shipping
Get Started
HOME
INTRO
Zgłoś jeśli
naruszono regulamin